Region One Education Service Center Awards TPA Contract

The Region One ESC Board of Directors has awarded third party administration services to Frates Benefit Administrators…………………………….

Proposals received were evaluated by the Region One ESC Insurance Committee comprised of employees from the Region One Education Service Center. The Board of Directors reviewed the proposals and ratified the committee’s rankings. The term of this contract will be for the fiscal year beginning September 1, 2018 and ending August 31, 2019 with three (3) additional one-year extension options.

The proposals for Cafeteria Plan Administration and Enrollment Platform was awarded to Frates Benefit Administrators, Oklahoma City, OK


We are a privately owned insurance agency founded in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma in 1924. The agency provides the full spectrum of Insurance, Risk Management and Third Party Benefit Administration. Frates Benefit Administrators administers all types of self-funded employee benefit plans; Section 125 plans; and other reimbursement plans such as Health Savings Accounts, Health Reimbursement Arrangements and Medical Expense Reimbursement Accounts.

Click here to read more about Frates history.


The Region One Education Service Center is part of a state-wide system of 20 regional education service centers created by the 59th Texas Legislature to assist school districts across the state. Originally slated to work with school districts as a media center, the role of the education service center has expanded to work alongside school districts to carry out the three main objectives as stipulated in the TEC §8.002: to assist school districts in improving student performance in each region of the system; enable school districts to operate more efficiently and economically; and implement initiatives assigned by the legislature or commissioner. Located in South Texas on the United States/Mexico border, Region One ESC serves 37 school districts and 10 charter school systems in the seven county areas of Cameron County, Hidalgo County, Jim Hogg County, Starr County, Webb County, Willacy County, and Zapata County.